About Zhejiang University

Headquartered in the historical and picturesque city of Hangzhou, Zhejiang University is a prestigious institution of higher education with a long history. Qiushi Academy, the predecessor of Zhejiang University, was founded in 1897 as one of the earliest modern academies of higher learning in China. In 1928, the academy was renamed National Zhejiang University. During wartime in the 1940s, the university moved to Zunyi, Meitan, and operated from western China for seven years. In 1946, Zhejiang University returned to Hangzhou. In 1952, during nationwide restructuring, some departments merged into other universities and into the Chinese Academy of Sciences. The remaining departments were divided to become four specialized higher education institutions. In 1998, these four universities merged back to form the new Zhejiang University, today one of the leading universities in China and perhaps the most comprehensive major research and educational institution. Throughout its 125-year history, Zhejiang University has been committed to cultivating talent and excellence, advancing science and technology, serving social development, and promoting culture. The university motto is “Seeking the Truth and Pioneering New Trails.”
As a comprehensive research university, Zhejiang University has distinctive features and a national as well as international impact. Research spans 12 top-level academic disciplines, including philosophy, economics, law, education, literature, history, art, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine, management, and the associated specialties. With seven faculties and 36 colleges/schools/departments, Zhejiang University emphasizes 14 primary and 21 secondary national leading academic areas of study.

Zhejiang University has long held an educational philosophy of putting people foremost, cultivating all-around competence in students, seeking truth, and pioneering new trails in search of excellence. The university is committed to developing future leaders with an international perspective. There are more than 200 alumni who have been elected members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering. Rich campus culture, advanced teaching facilities, and a wide range of international exchanges create an atmosphere of excellence for student development.
As of June 2016, more than 46,970 full-time students are enrolled across seven campuses, including 14,142 graduate students, 8,931 Ph.D. candidates, and 23,897 undergraduates. In addition, there are about 5,849 international students currently attending Zhejiang University. Other important facts and figures are as follows: 15 members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 18 members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 76 experts in State "1000-elite Programs", 41 chief scientists on national 973 projects, 120 Chair Professors in the Cheung Kong Scholar Program, and 116 scholars awarded from the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. In 2015, the research fund at Zhejiang University amounted to 3,316 million yuan. The seven campuses in Zijingang, Yuquan, Xixi, Huajiachi Zhijiang, Zhoushan, and Haining encompass about 4.5 million square meters with more than 2 million square meters of floor space. The university library holds a collection of more than 6.83 million volumes. There are seven high-level affiliated hospitals.

Scan by WeChat,Follow Us